Book Review – It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

IMG_8554
Title: It Ends With Us
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publisher: Atria

Genre: New Adult

Release Date: August 2, 2016

Goodreads Review

Rating: Star FullStar FullStar FullStar FullStar Full

Synopsis:Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up. She graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant and has a total soft spot for Lily; and the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his no dating rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan, her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all too human characters, “It Ends with Us” is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price. (source)

 

(I received and ARC of It Ends With Us in exchange for an honest review)

It Ends With Us was almost the end of me.

Colleen Hoover did it again with another life ruining book.  I have read a handful of books by Colleen Hoover so I thought that I knew exactly what was going to happen in this book, but boy, was I wrong.  There are so many plot twists that just made my jaw drop and my heart hurt.

I don’t know what else to say about It Ends With Us without spoiling anything so, all I’m going to say is I HIGHLY recommend reading this book because I REALLY enjoyed it.  I don’t think I could even talk about the characters without spoiling anything.  Overall, the book was kind of weird in the beginning, but after 150 pages, everything just happens so quickly and I could not put the book down.

Now let’s get to my favorite part of writing reviews, aka the spoilers!!

 

giphy4

WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD. PLEASE DON’T READ THIS PART OF THE REVIEW UNTIL YOU HAVE FINISHED THE BOOK.

WOW. OK. Where do I begin?

The book starts out with a scene of Lily on a rooftop talking about her dad’s funeral.  Later on, she see’s Ryle kicking a chair and smoking a joint.  Basically, I was already not a fan of him from just reading the first 10 pages of this book.  Ryle’s tells Lily that all he wants is a one night stand, which reminded me a lot of Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover.

We then get to read a few of Lily’s journals/letters to Ellen, which I thought was weird at first, but the whole Ellen show actually played a bigger role in the book than I thought it would have when we first got to read the letters.  In one of the journal entries, near the middle of the book, we learn that Atlas tried to kill himself and Lily saved him, which honestly made me want to cry.  Atlas is one of my favorite characters in the book and I was sad when I read that.

My other favorite characters are then brought in, also known as Allysa and Marshall.  The fact that Ryle is Alyssa’s brother was not very surprising to me.  I was little shocked, but I expected him to show up sometime.  Throughout the majority of the book, I was convinced that Ryle was the grown up version of Atlas, but then Atlas ends up being the owner of the restaurant, Bib, which took me by surprise.  I was so happy to see Atlas back.  It did kind of throw me off though, because I was not expecting a love triangle in this book.  Oh boy, that love triangle and then to find out that Lily is pregnant was just WOW.  There’s just so many plot twists, it’s great.

I was frustrated with throughout the last half of the book because that’s when Ryle first starts to hurt Lily.  I kept wondering WHY she would not just leave him, but I think it was difficult for me to understand why Lily would not leave because I think it’s hard to tell someone to leave the person they love without ever being in their shoes and feeling what they feel, but once Lily said she wanted a divorce, I almost cried because I was happy but also sad.  I never felt bad for Ryle after what he did because what he did was wrong, but when he cried when Lily said he wanted a divorce, it made my heart hurt a little because this is the first time Ryle has full on cried throughout the whole entire book, but he got what he deserves.

That epilogue made me so happy, though.  I was so glad to see Lily doing well on her own, and then she literally runs into Atlas when she is on her way to drop off Emerson to Ryle. That part made me so happy.

It Ends With Us was definitely one of the harder books for me to read because this book dealt with a pretty heavy topic, but it was just such a fast paced book.  It’s not my favorite Colleen Hoover book, November 9 is still number one, but it’s pretty high on my list!

 


 

xoxo,

Celine

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review – It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

